Skip to content

1st perf of new clarinet concerto

January 6, 2016

My new 45 min concerto for clarinet and large orchestra, Chronotope, will be performed for the first time at the Oslo Concert House on Jan 21st 2016 with the great Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor is Han-Na Chang, and soloist is the fabulous Fredrik Fors.

The title is a term used by the Russian linguist and philosopher Mikhail Bakhtin (1895 – 1975) to describe how the concept of time and space (chronos + topos) is experienced in language and discourse. I find that the term is also a wonderfully relevant concept of how music is experienced, when the immediate recollection of what was, and the immediate expectation of what is to come, fills and enriches the spatial now, the moment of listening.

The term is also related to, and a further extension of the conceptual framework in my last series of paintings, called “Shapes in Space”, exhibited in Oslo in 2009 and 2010. An important inspiration for “Chronotope” is of course the soloist Fredrik Fors, who initiated the commission. He manages to unite a dynamic and forceful temporal drive with a poetic and spatial presence in such an excellent way.

See the website of the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: